Flight Simulator April Update

flightsim

Greetings Pilots!

March was a busy month. Several non-simulator projects for the library kept me busy. BookMania! and a Disney trip that was planned long ago took up three of the five Fridays in March. Consequently, we only had 15 lessons for the month. I just negotiated a deal with my wife to book our future Disney trips Saturday through Monday from now on.

As most of you know, we started our Flight Across America journey on February 25th. Five legs have been completed and we’re approaching the Florida panhandle. I was hoping to be out of Florida by now. I’m calling on all FAA (Flight Across America, not the Federal FAA) pilots to get some seat time and complete a few legs.

Pilot N1008JB donated the most awesome set of rudder pedals.

IMG_9624

I had the opportunity to fly with them for about 15 minutes last week. I’m going to try to get more seat time this weekend and give them a real testing. Some aerobatics in the Extra 300 should do the trick, or maybe 30 knot crosswind landings perhaps.  Big thanks to N1008JB! We love them!

Our simulator was featured in the Stuart News on Saturday, March 25th. You can see the TCPalm article and photos here. The link is also listed below my signature. It was a great article and has brought attention to the simulator. I’ve had dozens of comments and a few new students. Thank you Xavier Mascareñas, of Treasure Coast Newspapers. Excellent job.

Speaking of new students, we are back up to five students on the waiting list. This doesn’t sound too bad, but we’re also on a 3 to 5-week rotation with some of you depending on the time slot. I’m graduating some students and will make room for the new ones shortly. We will get everyone! I just need you to enter a holding pattern for a little while longer.

This brings me to my last topic. I graduated a student last week and it was very sad to see him go, so I thought, what can I do to keep all my students involved regardless of training levels. I came up with a good idea, and I would like your input. FLIGHT CLUB! We start our very own Flight Club. The first rule of Flight Club is: You always talk about Flight Club. The second rule of Flight Club is: You always talk about Flight Club. Got it? Good.

This is where I need your input:

  1. When is the best day to have Flight Club? Obviously Saturday works best for most, but not all. Sunday is an option but it would have to be at Blake and we don’t have the simulator there.
  2. What is the best time? Morgade is open until 5:30 on Saturdays. Mornings may not be the best with youth sports, golf, boating, and fishing in the mix. Afternoons might be a better option.
  3. What do we do at Flight Club? We can talk about our adventures. We can learn tips and tricks about the simulator. We can plan future events. We can have guest speakers from people in the aviation field, like the Sheriff’s helicopter pilot, or a representative from Pratt & Whitney, etc.

What are your thoughts? Since all your email addresses are blind carbon copied, I will be the only one to see your response. I’ll compile all the ideas and we’ll get this Flight Club off the ground! Remember, all flight puns are intentional!  ☺

Thanks for your time and especially your passion for flying!

Happy Landings, everyone!

George L. Seaman, Jr.
Flight Simulator Instructor
Robert Morgade Library idea lab
Martin County Library System

Leave a Reply

